Ramadan 2016 – Post #3: Spreading Cheer

Standard

This was the first year that many newly arrived Syrian refugees were going to be observing Ramadan in Canada, their new home. While I can’t imagine that the past few Ramadans have been particularly cheerful, I did want to do something with my daughter to help welcome this beautiful month and make it special for our new friends.

Through the wonderful and dedicated individuals that make this city so great, I came to know about a Syrian family who didn’t live too far from us at the time. While I knew of them and had even been in their home before, I still had not had the opportunity to meet them in person. This seemed like as good of a time as any.

I made a simple Ramadan Mubarak platter with cake, appetizers and cookies and added some cute pinbacks for the children. I wrapped it up and my daughter and I went for a brief visit (this was one of the activity cards I made for her calendar). She was super excited to carry and present the lantern to the very friendly children. They hung up the lantern right away. The family seemed genuinely appreciative of our gesture, even though what they were really in need of were regular and sustained friendships.

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I like to bring my daughter with me when we are dropping off food to friends and family. I want her to understand what it means to be part of a community. I want feeding others to be a natural instinct for her. I want to give her the opportunity to live her faith.

It’s easy to give and share when you are blessed with so much. The hope is to build up these characteristics so that even when times are tough, we are able to have enough tawakkul (trust and reliance in God), to continue giving and sharing.

 

Leave a Reply

